Public Announcements


SCPRSA Individual Awards

It's time to nominate your colleagues, clients, bosses and community partners for SCPRSA's Individual Awards. The deadline to submit your nominations is this Friday, Feb. 14. There is no cost to submit a nomination.

The W. Thomas Duke Distinguished Practitioner of the Year Award recognizes both exceptional achievement in one's public relations career and outstanding contributions to SCPRSA. The award is typically given to a senior-level practitioner. Nominees must be members of SCPRSA as of Dec. 31, 2019.

The Rookie of Year Award recognizes a public relations practitioner with three years of experience or less. While typically presented to a young PR pro early in their career, PR practitioners who have transitioned from other career fields in the past three years are also eligible. Nominees must be members of SCPRSA as of Dec. 31, 2019.

The George L. Johnson Community Spirit Award recognizes outstanding achievement in service to the community, above and beyond the responsibilities of the nominee's job. This award may be given to individuals, groups or companies. Nominees are not required to be members of SCPRSA.

The Executive Excellence Award was designed to show appreciation to bosses, supervisors, and clients who show exceptional support to the public relations function in their organizations or to their PR agencies. Nominees may not be PR practitioners. Members of SCPRSA are not eligible for this award.

The SCPRSA Volunteer Service Award recognizes exceptional volunteers who have demonstrated an extraordinary level of commitment to South Carolina PRSA through volunteer work, board or committee service, or involvement in special projects. The award is designed to reward members whose efforts might otherwise be behind the scenes. The SCPRSA Chapter President is not eligible for this award. Nominees must be members of SCPRSA as of Dec. 31, 2019.

The SCPRSA Educator of the Year recognizes significant contributions to public relations education through college or university teaching at a school located in South Carolina. Nominees may be full-time, part-time or adjunct educators in tenure-track or non-tenure-track positions. Nominees must be members of SCPRSA as of Dec. 31. 2019.

The SCPRSA Public Relations Student of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding undergraduate student who shows exceptional promise as a future public relations practitioner.

See the Call for Nominations for complete rules and guidelines for each award. Your nomination should include a letter of nomination addressing the criteria for the award; two additional letters of support; the nominee's resume; and the nominee's headshot. Please email all of these materials in a single email to [email protected] no later than 12 noon on Friday, Feb. 14.